Anhui Medical University is a provincial key university jointly built by Anhui Provincial Government, the National Health and Family Planning Commission and the Ministry of Education.

 Its predecessor is Private Southeast Medical University founded in Shanghai in 1926. In 1930, it changed the name into Southeast Medical College. At the end of 1949, it moved to HuaiyuanAnhui Province and became the first higher medical education institution in Anhui Province. In 1952, it was relocated in Hefei and changed its name to Anhui Medical College. In 1985, its name was finally changed into Anhui Medical University.

The University adopts the inscriptions of “Learning and practicing, training competent doctors.” as its motto, which is written by Mr. Cai Yuanpei, a well-known educator, carries forward the glorious tradition of “devotion to the country and the people; dedication to human health”, adheres to the educational philosophy of “national rejuvenationdevotion; benevolence”, advocates the academic principles of “Truthfulness; refinement; innovation”, and is committed to building a high-level medical university.

The University currently has four main campus areas---the campus of Meishan Road Area, the campus of Feicui Road Area, the east campus (under construction), and the campus of Chaohu School of Clinical Medicine, covering an area of 1820 mu in total. The University consists of 16 directly-affiliated teaching institutions and has 6 directly-affiliated hospitals (the First Affiliated Hospital, the Second Affiliated Hospital, the Fourth Affiliated Hospital, Affiliated Chaohu Hospital, Affiliated Fuyang Hospital and Stomatological Hospital of Anhui Province).

 In the University, there are 11,486 full-time regular undergraduates, 3,813 full-time graduates, 407 international students, and 17,721 adult students of university or junior college level (amateur). The University has a staff of 9,614 people, including 1,207 in-service faculty members at the university headquarters (the campus of Meishan Road Area). There are 670 full-time teachers in the University, among whom 91% have doctorate or master’s degree.

The University has focus on medicine, with a coordinated development of science, engineering, management, law and other disciplines. There are 30 undergraduate majors including clinical medicine (“5+3” integration). There are 2 authorized Level-I disciplinary centers of doctoral degree in clinical medicine and pharmacy, 26 authorized Level-II disciplinary centers, 10 authorized Level-I disciplinary centers of master’s degree, 59 authorized Level-II disciplinary centers of master’s degree; and 1 professional doctorate degree granting right and 8 professional master’s degrees granting rights. Clinical Medicine together with Pharmacology and Toxicology enters the top 1% of ESI global ranking.

AHMU has established three post-doctoral research centers, Namely pharmacology, clinical medicine and public health and preventive medicine. The University has national key disciplines such as Dermatology and Venereology; 14 national key clinical specialties; 3 provincial discipline construction Major program; 18 provincial key discipline; 2 Key Laboratories of Ministry of Education; 1 National Key Laboratory Base co-invested by Anhui Province and Ministry of Science and Technology; 25 provincial and ministerial level laboratories; National Drugs Clinical Research Base1 Science and Technology Innovation Team of Ministry of Education; 2 Science and Technology Innovation Team of Anhui Province; 3 Industrial Innovation Team of Anhui “115”; 3 Science and Research Innovation Team of Colleges and Universities at Anhui Province; 1 Think Tank of Anhui Province.

Being among “ National Foundational Capability Promotion Project of colleges and universities in the central and western regions”, AHMU has carried out National Undergraduate Innovation and Entrepreneurship Training Program. The university has 4 national level specialities at colleges and universities; 2 national level pilot programs on speciality comprehensive reform; 2 national level “Preeminent Doctor” education and training programs; 1 national level teaching team; 2 National Excellent Courses; 2 National Excellent resources -sharing Courses; 2 National Experimental Teaching Demonstration Center; 1 National virtual simulation Experimental Teaching Center; 1 national “famous teacher in the program of 10 thousand teachers”; 1 course being elected as “Famous Brand Course taught in English” for international students studying in China by Ministry of Education and 1 Second prize in Teaching Quality Project on national level.

There are Over 30 teachers winning the titles including “Changjiang Scholar appointed by Ministry of Education”,“Young Scholar appointed by Ministry of Education” and “the New Century Talents Project ”;24 teachers taking position in international academic organizations & SCI source journals; 5 teachers taking position as chief editor for standardized textbooks in the “11th & 12th five-year plan”; 4 teachers taking position as the chief commissioner of National Speciality Society; 1 teacher taking position as the Chairperson of Asian Academic Organization; 9 teachers chosen as experts on the advisory board of university medical and pharmaceutical disciplines of the Ministry of Education, over 10 teachers winning titles such as national and provincial model teacher, outstanding teacher.

The number of National Natural Sciences Foundation Projects maintains the leading position among colleges and universities in Anhui Province for consecutive years. Research results were listed in the Top 10 National Scientific Development in 2010 and 2014 and the Top 10 National Scientific and Technological Development among Chinese universities in 2012. The University has won one second prize in National Award for Science and Technology Progress, one first prize in Higher Education Institutes Scientific Research Award for Outstanding Achievements, two China Science Awards for Young Scientists , and four first prizes in Chinese Medical Science and Technology Awards. Large amounts of high quality SCI papers were published on world famous academic journals such as Cell ,the New England Journal of Medicine and Nature Genetics.

The university edits and publishes across the country 14 kinds of academic journals such as Journal of Anhui Medical University, Chinese Journal of Pharmacology, Chinese Journal of Clinical and Experimental Pathology and Chinese Journal of Disease Control. The university library is the Anhui Provincial central library with sharing network for national biomedical literature resources. It is the branch center of medicine of Anhui Academy Digital Library and the searching workstation for the Ministry of Education.  

AHMU has adhered to the policy of Openness, Cooperation and Win-win, and has established strategic partnerships with Academy of Military Medical Sciences, Tsinghua University, Hefei Institute of Physical Science, Chinese Academy of Sciences, University of Hong Kong, etc. and operates more than 50 clinical schools in hospitals and over 60 professional practice and teaching bases, throughout cities in Anhui Province, Beijing, Shanghai, Jiangsu Province, Shandong Province, Zhejiang Province, Guangdong Province, Fujian Province and Xinjiang.

The university has established extensive cooperation and communication with universities in Germany, Australia, America, United Kingdom, Spain, Sweden , Canada, Japan, Korea, Taiwan and Hong Kong District,etc. Both sides have exchanged experts, scholars, students, information and have cooperated in talent training and scientific researches. (Updated in May, 2017)